The square was designed by architect Alexander Tamanian within the 1924 main plan of Yerevan city. The construction of the square started in 1926. The first phase of the construction was completed in 1929. It was further developed until 1952 and finally completed in 1958.
The square was known as Lenin Square. The statue of the Soviet leader Vladimir Lenin was erected in the southwestern forehead of the square in 1940 and dismantlement in 1990, prior to the independence of Armenia.
The oval shaped square has a stone pattern in the centre, meant to look like a traditional Armenian rug from above. The dancing water fountains are located at the northeastern forehead of the square in front of the National Gallery. The buildings around the square are made of rose and white Armenian tufa stones, fortified on a basalt-made ground anchor. The clock of the Government building tower was made in Moscow and transferred to Yerevan in July 1941. The diameter of the clock is 4 meters, the length of the big hand is 188 cm, while the small hand is 170 cm.
The is the place where ceremonies and meetings are held with the most notable one is the yearly military show of the Independence Day.